I'm going to take this as a learning opportunity: (lots of questions about installing MTGO)

I’m a novice. I’ve now spent several hours trying to install MTG Online, and at this point I think I need to take a step back and get some one-on-one (or ten-on-one) help:

Here’s the installation page:
(lutris) .net/games/magic-the-gathering-online/

Following the advice here, I go for the “Regular” version. Check my understanding: What I’m getting here is a script, right? A list of commands that Lutris will run, hopefully ultimately getting me a workable game?

I’m presented with a “Select installation directory” window. Check my understanding: This is NOT supposed to be a wine prefix, right? It doesn’t really matter where the game is installed? I go with the default: /home/deck/Games/magic-the-gathering-online

I see a bunch of terminal-style readouts, including some “warning”, “unable to” and “WARNING” lines.

It asks permission to install .Net Framework 4.7.2, so I let it. It proceeds to fill up blue bars indefinitely. I’ve given it more than an hour.

Searching online informs me that .Net versions should be installed with winetricks before trying to install other things. But I don’t see how it’s possible to do this: Lutris automatically creates a new wine prefix for every game upon install, right?

I try to use the “Latest” install script instead. This completely skips the .net install, and the game actually launches. But it throws an “EULA file not found” error. I’m unable to continue to the game. Apparently this is a known problem. The internet points to this as the solution. I have two questions: Why are people recommending a docker solution to a Lutris problem? And what does the command actually DO? In any case, that command does not solve the problem.