World of Warcraft Classic 3D Accelerator Card is not supported

Hello, I am using Ubuntu 18.04 and i am new to Linux. I have been trying to play wow classic for 2 days but i couldnt. When i try to launch the game i get an error saying “Your 3D accelerator is not supported by World of Warcraft. Please install a 3D card with dual-TMU support.”

My drivers are up to date and i did installed the vulkan liblaries. I tried almost everything, please help me.

I have also had this problem. Bonaire Radeon.

Using prime instead of primus vk for me worked. (For Nvidia)

The error message is misleading (whatever dual TMU is). I fixed this problem on a Debian/nVidia system by uninstalling xserver-xorg-video-intel. For some reason the intel driver stops the nvidia vulkan stuff from working correctly. Maybe its a general vulkan problem? Please, @rexarlet and @bryguylutris, report back if this fixed the problem for you - I’d like to know about AMD too.

I’m diggging up this old thread instead of starting a new one because it has quite a lot of views, so obviously lots of peaople have had this problem over the years. I’m getting this error again on a Debian/AMD system, totally at random. Reboot usually fixes it, but just waiting it out also can help.This is really weird and I can’t find any connection to why it sometimes fails and sometimes not. What’s happening here? It seems that something about vulkan support dies but then rectifies itself? Wonky hardware? Or anything I can restart to get it going without waiting or rebooting?

These are the diagnostics I get whether things fail with the message about missing TMU support or not - i.e. always, so it doesn’t help.

vulkaninfo | grep deviceName
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libvulkan_radeon.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libvulkan_intel.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32