Why is linux poor for gaming?

Hello,
I am a computer science student, and an admirer of Lutris initiative. I am keen to bring gaming to open source platforms and to learn no matter how matured the topic is. I am wondering why Windows outperform Linux in gaming, So I picked up books like Jason’s Gregory Game Engine Architecture and Tanenbaum’s Operating Systems. Nonetheless, I could not spot my desired point. I believe that Lutris community is the perfect one to provide me with some guidance and pave me the way.

Sincerely,

By what basis are you making that judgement? We cannot answer the question as it has not been fully presented. I mean, to a good many people here Windows does not outperform Linux.

Hi Touny,

the topic of yours is way difficult and long term to explain.
If you provide us some examples, we could tell you why this is in the particular circumstances.

For instance,. Not all games are released on Linux, and many benchmarks show windows outperformance comparing to Linux. Steam’s DotA 2 is a rare exception

This is still way to general.
I Think you point on games, which dont have a real native version. For Example Ferals ports to Linux, they just use Eon, what is quite close to be the same as Wine. So those games use Emulation or API Wrapper to run on Linux. This costs more performance and the result is less fps.
Valve putted a lot love to the Linux version of Dota 2 and the results are great. So the most comparison Videos are not realy fair.

I’ve always understood it to be the idea of where the customers were. Linux use, in personal computers, is still very small compared to windows or mac. As such, more customers are on windows. So they make games for where the customers are. If we saw a major uptick in personal Linux machines, then they’d make games for Linux.