Runner missing 2 dll's: msmpeg2vdec.dll & msvproc.dll

Hi, Everyone. I’m a new linux user on the latest Garuda gaming distro.

System specs here: Ubuntu Pastebin

I only play World of Warcraft (retail) and have followed all the steps before & during a fresh lutris install, ensuring my drivers are vulkan drivers are installed and up to date, and using the -d3d11 startup flag in battlenet to force WoW to use directx11.

The lutris logs tell me I’m missing 2 dll’s. I’ve sought to add them via runner configuration but I don’t see them explicitly listed in the drop-down of addable libraries.

Log here: Ubuntu Pastebin

I haven’t changed any of the defaults for lutris, wine, or winetricks because as a noob, I don’t really understand most of what I’m looking at. A little hand-holding as I learn my way around will be greatly appreciated, especially if I can solve the problem as a result.

This issue is a several-times-per-day occurrence, though it isn’t an everytime thing. It happens mostly when I’m logging into an existing character. The progress bar advances about 2/3 the way and then freezes for about 5 seconds, after which it pops up an error message saying a memory location couldn’t be read. It’s a different location each time, but the one thing that’s consistent is the 2/3 complete progress bar freezing a few seconds.

I have had it happen also in game, just doing nothing of any particular significance. Once I was turning my character to follow a path, for example. There’s no rhyme or reason that I’ve noticed other than the progress bar.

Anyway, I hope this is enough information to make a useful first-step toward solving the problem. Thanks in advance for all helpful replies!

1 Like

Lines 5-9 from my log pastebin, above:

fsync: up and running.
[0901/144434.085:ERROR:network_change_notifier_win.cc(142)] WSALookupServiceBegin failed with: 0