Question about verifying wine is okay

I’m a newb with wine but I installed WoW out of order and I configured wine partially (via the Lutris install) before installing my nvidia driver and getting off nouveau. The game ended up being installed okay but there is some choppiness and I’m not sure if the choppiness is just from running through the wine layer or because of a config issue I may have caused. What are some of the things I can verify to make sure wine is setup properly? I saw some errors in the lutris logs about missing interfaces. Thanks!

EDIT: I ended up solving this by using the ‘staging’ version of wine in the Lutris launcher instead of the latest. I’m not really sure why it worked but now my FPS is basically pegged at 100 so I’m happy :slight_smile:. The info @LeXofLeviafan gave was also very valuable - it helped me look deeper and verify a lot of stuff with my driver.

If you’re new to Linux, you may want to start with checking if your system has correct 3D acceleration setup.

First off, run glxgears -info (in terminal shell; if it’s not installed it’s usually in a package named mesa-utils or mesa-progs). It shows a window with three OpenGL-rendered gears, and every 5 seconds FPS is printed (but it’s not particularly useful as it’s usually capped to 60); and in terminal it also prints out which OpenGL version and driver it’s using (ensure it’s an NVidia one and not Intel, if your machine has both). To get a better feel of actual rendering speed you can try glxspheres (or glxspheres64; if neither are present, try installing virtualgl package).