No Man's Sky White Screen glitch

Hi, first time posting in the forums, and I am new to Linux(Started about a month ago), and new to Lutris(Started a few weeks ago).

The installer for No Man’s Sky does run the game, however after you start a game, and you are at the “hold e to initialize” screen, there is just a white screen with the occasional UI text/pop-up. I have searched the internet for solutions, but I cannot find any. The installer says it’s platinum rated, so it would seem that I am the one that is doing something wrong here. I could really use some help, I don’t even remotely know what to do at this point.

I am using Kubunutu 18.04 LTS

• ASUS ROG Radeon RX Vega 64 STRIX-RXVEGA64-O8G-GAMING 8GB 2048-Bit
    • Using the Open source drivers that Kubuntu recommended
  • Intel I-7 4790k
  • 16 GB DDR3 RAM

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

1 Like

try tapping E
If it doesnt work you might need to do alt+tab to gain focus of the game window (that happened to me)

@magzu

Tried that, but it did not fix the issue.

Try this: https://www.mesa3d.org/envvars.html

MESA_GL_VERSION_OVERRIDE - changes the value returned by glGetString(GL_VERSION) and possibly the GL API type.

The format should be MAJOR.MINOR[FC|COMPAT]
    FC is an optional suffix that indicates a forward compatible context. This is only valid for versions >= 3.0.
    COMPAT is an optional suffix that indicates a compatibility context or GL_ARB_compatibility support. This is only valid for versions >= 3.1.
    GL versions <= 3.0 are set to a compatibility (non-Core) profile
    GL versions = 3.1, depending on the driver, it may or may not have the ARB_compatibility extension enabled.
    GL versions >= 3.2 are set to a Core profile
    Examples: 2.1, 3.0, 3.0FC, 3.1, 3.1FC, 3.1COMPAT, X.Y, X.YFC, X.YCOMPAT.
        2.1 - select a compatibility (non-Core) profile with GL version 2.1.
        3.0 - select a compatibility (non-Core) profile with GL version 3.0.