Looking for help to port PCSX-R's OpenGL renderer to SDL2

I’m looking for some developers with some experience in C and SDL2 to help me modernize the OpenGL renderer for PCSX-R. The current implementation uses X11 and does not work well. I have very little experience with SDL2 but I’m willing to work on that issue if someone with more experience on that matter would point me in the right direction.
If you do not have experience with SDL2 but have a CodePlex account, please vote for this issue :wink:

Latest version of RetroArch comes with Mednafen and Rustation Playstation emulator support:
http://www.libretro.com/index.php/retroarchlibretro-project-status-update/

While porting PCSX-R to SDL2 is a worthy effort, might be easier to team up with the libretro crew.

The next version of Lutris will support Playstation emulation with Mednafen but bear in mind that it is a much less advanced emulator compared to PCSX-R (ie. it has no HD scaling and some other stuff might be missing).
The Mednafen core from Retroarch might be able to solve some of those issues.

I had a quick look at Rustation and while it looks promising, it’s still a work in progress and not something we would want to make available to play games. It might be worth having another look at it in a year or two.

I see. PCSX-R has more features, which would be nice to bring fully over to SDL2, rather the DirectX stuff in there. Don’t know much of DirectX, or how to port it over. Had a look through some of the code, and it doesn’t look that complicated. May be a good idea to bring some of the PCSX-R features over to Mednafen too, if porting doesn’t turn out fruitful.

My initial post was poorly worded and forgot to correct my mistake. When I said “uses direct X11” I actually meant “uses direct X11 calls” or “uses X11 directly”. This has absolutely nothing to do with DirectX 11 but is related to X11 / Xorg / Xlib.