Howto Install multiple Blizzard/Battle.net Games

Heya, I am new to Lutris (basically new to Linux on the Desktop, Majaro KDE since 2 weeks or so) and while I am quite happy how good my Games are running on Linux (far better than expected) I am nevertheless looking for a more streamlined experience with four of my games, namely SC2, SC:R, WC3 and D3 - all of them are battle.net based games. I have installed D3 and SC2 one after another, and both have their own battle.net instance - which seems odd to me. Can I use them from one battle.net instance? If yes, how would be the installation done? I have yet to try WC3 and SC:R, because I want to fix this “issue” first. Any help would be appreciated.

About your experience with gaming on Linux: yay! :sunglasses:

I’m not familiar with battle.net but I’ve seen this problem with other applications under WINE (which runs the game - Lutris steers WINE, WINE launches game).

I see two routes.

Use the battle.net installer
There is an installer for battle.net on the Lutris site. I expect that you’ll get one installation and Battle.net installs everything in the WINE bottle which was created for it. If that’s the case, this route is the easiest one and you have all games in one place.

Again, not familiar with Battle.net.

Now the fun part
There are separate installers for each game. Each one creates a specific WINE bottle for that game with all optimizations for it. This probably installs Battle.net with it and thus creates all the copies.

A WINE bottle b.t.w. is the directory (or folder) where the game is installed.

When you do actually need specific WINE bottles to run the games because one game needs a winetrick which breaks another (again, I’m not familiar with the specifics) then the next solution could be an option.

A winetrick, again b.t.w., is a set of libraries which are installed to make an application work. But when other applications are running in the same bottle there is the risk that those will break.