Cannot Start Game in Starcraft II

I followed the installation procedure for SC2 and it fully installed without a problem. However, in game I cannot click on any button to start any actual gameplay.

I’m brand new to Wine and Lutris (and gaming on Linux in general) and don’t even know where to start for fixing this. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Did you have any luck? I play SC2 daily. I added a couple of overrides to make DXVK behave properly, but never experienced the issue you’re having.

No luck thus far. The graphics do seem a bit off, but appears playable. It seems like the game isn’t properly connecting to servers since it seems to be constantly hung up on anything that has to do with getting data from servers. I don’t know where to look to fix this, and it seems especially bizarre because I had no issue logging in to battle.net.

It might be some kind of weird issue with the game itself, possible it’s corrupt? Also we just had the 10 year anniversary update the other night, make sure your game is up to date.

Have you tried running scan and repair?

Also for dx9 to work correctly with dxvk you need the proper windows compiler dll’s otherwise you will experience issues especially if you ever manage to run a custom game. Run winetricks from Lutris and add the ones I’ve got selected.

Sorry, I read you are new to Linux…
Right click on the game in Lutris > Winetricks > Select default wine prefix (ok) > Install a Windows dll or component (ok) > then tick the ones in my screenshot (ok). You can close winetricks once thats done.

Update: This is very bizarre.

While in the game, I navigated through some menu windows and found a bookmarked map. For some reason, SC2 had no problem downloading this map and playing it. After a game against the AI, I returned to the main game menu to find all features working properly. (I haven’t tried multiplayer yet, but I am able to get maps and play games in the normal fashion.)