Cannot launch WineSteam from Lutris (with error)

First off, I’m a bit of a noob with Linux, tinkering with the command line and general stuff like that so please bare with me :slight_smile:

I managed to install both Mafia 1 and Return to Castle Wolfenstien this past week with only minor issue, this morning I played both without issue only for this afternoon to not be able to play (RtCW, I haven’t tried Mafia 1)

As far as I know, I’ve not changed or edited anything so why this has happened is beyond me; I then tried to launch “Steam Wine” from within Lutris only for ‘nothing’|690x238 to happen (some sort of error, when launching in a terminal)

One odd thing I’ve noticed (I’m fairly sure it’s unrelated to the issue as to why SteamWine wont launch, but an issue none-the less, is that Return to Castle Wolfenstein has moved from the “Wine Steam” category, to the “Linux” category (despite, not actually being on Linux) oddly, I’ve tried to edit the config of RtCW to change the “runner” from Linux, to Windows Steam but cannot save the changes when I click “save”… Odd?

Anyway, if anyone can shed some light on how to fix this issue I’d be very, very grateful!

Thanks in advance,

• Nachos.

an update; someone suggested the following which helped me launch WineSteam again;

you have misconfigured a game with the steamless_binary option, which uncovered a bug in lutris, go to ~/.config/lutris/games and search for a file containing steamless and fix it (just remove the line). That will solve the crash

However, after deleting all the files except the ones I needed for my games, Return to castle wolfenstien still doesn’t launch with the following issue;

000b:fixme:winediag:start_process Wine Staging 3.13 is a testing version containing experimental patches.
000b:fixme:winediag:start_process Please mention your exact version when filing bug reports on winehq.org.
wine: Bad EXE format for Z:\home\zzz\Games\return-to-castle-wolfenstein\wolfsp.exe.

Does