Best way to import games into Lutris

Hello! :wave: I’m new to Lutris, trying to wrap my head around it. I have tried it a few times now, because people talk about how great it is, but whenever I try to use it, I immediately run into problems, so I was hoping to get some input from the community on how to use Lutris in a better way.

I have a large existing game collection across various platforms. I built a RetroPie and for most game systems it “just works” when you point it at folders full of game files. I was hoping Lutris would be similar with its runners, allowing to easily add games en masse from these various systems, linked to the appropriate runners. But whenever I point Lutris at a folder, it says there are no games found. When I try to add an individual ROM file, it scans it for a checksum, looks online, and then says the checksum is not found. So I haven’t had any luck adding games using Lutris’s obvious front-facing mechanisms.

So I’m wondering: are there for example command line tools people have made to add games en masse by scanning e.g. ROM headers to extract the titles, and look up the artwork etc. on other sites besides lutris.net, like RetroPie / EmulationStation does? If not, why not? My impression is that Lutris is trying to make lutris.net a catalog of “all games ever” but that it’s woefully incomplete, unsurprisingly, since that is a hugely daunting task even when crowd-sourced.

I feel like I’m missing something fundamental. But reading through https://lutris.net and GitHub - lutris/docs and this forum, I wasn’t able to find much information about how to set up Lutris with large game collections. And the Lutris sub-Reddit, which comes up a lot on search results, has been deleted unfortunately. Did that content get rescued to anywhere else? It seems like a shame to lose it.

Thanks for any and all opinions and advice! :sunny: