Battlefield V performance problems

Hi there,

I am using Ubuntu Budgie 19.10 and have recently changed over to it as my daily driver from Windows.
I am still very new to Linux in general.

I have a GTX 1060 and 8700k i7 CPU with 16gb DDR4 Ram.

I used Lutris to download the Battlefield V config.
Unfortunately, I seem to experience major stuttering at times (I think when the cache is being built) and in general bad FPS ~40.

I have enabled Esync and ensured that the latest Nvidia driver is installed (430.50).
I’m not sure what else to try, but any help is appreciated.

Many thanks.

1. Install WINE
  2. sudo apt-get install libgnutls30:i386 libldap-2.4-2:i386 libgpg-error0:i386 libxml2:i386 libasound2-plugins:i386 libsdl2-2.0-0:i386 libfreetype6:i386 libdbus-1-3:i386 libsqlite3-0:i386
    3.Install Feral Gamemode
    https://github.com/FeralInteractive/gamemode
    4.Install WINE Tricks
    5.Add the below entries to System preferences / System Options / Environmental variables.

Key - __GL_SHADER_DISK_CACHE

Value – 1

Key - __GL_SHADER_DISK_CACHE_PATH

Value - /home/ryan/Games/origin/nv-shaders
6.Enable Gamemode to work with all Lutris games.

1 Like

With that setup you should have easily 110+ fps in general @ 1080p low settings. When DXVK creates cache it should take 2-10 seconds once when you start playing new map.

First open Lutris and goto Wine version management. Install Lutris-4.16 if not installed yet.

Install Feral Gamemode, instructions for install at Github page.

Right click Battlefield V in Lutris choose Configure.

• open Runner options tab
  • change Wine version to 4.16
  • check that DXVK is enabled and version is 1.4.4 or 1.4.5
  • check that Esync is enabled

Open System options tab and add Enviroment variable -> Key = LD_PRELOAD and Value = /usr/lib/libgamemodeauto.so
libgamemodeauto.so file location may vary depending what distro youre on. Check location by opening terminal and type -> whereis libgamemodeauto.so