[SOLVED] Anno 1800 causes huge lags to my system, unplayable

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Linux and gaming on the OS as well.
As I really love Anno 1800, I installed it through Lutris (details below). When I launch the game, I can go right ingame in the menu and stuff, but the moment I hit run in Lutris my whole system faces a huge lag. Everything is like covered in sticky honey, takes forever and, well, the game is simply unplayable.

Are there some settings I’ve been missing or something else I could do, to make the game run smoothly?
I tried to research it on Google, but I was unable to replicate what people wore they did to run the game, since these versions of Wine seem non-existing.

Kubuntu 24.4
KDE Plasma 5.27.11
X11
ADMD Ryzen 7 3700X
32 GB RAM
NVIDIA 2080 - 555 driver version
Wine 9.0, installed through Discovery
Winetricks 20240105-2, also through Discovery
Anno 1800, Wine Ubisoft Connect DXVK version, Anno 1800 - Lutris

Hi,
Lots of things you can try, but in the game generally run “borderless” for the fullscreen mode if it has one, also vsync off, and instead apply a frame rate limit if the game has it.

The recommendations from Lutris for WINE is Staging which currently sits at 9.13, but looking at the installer, the game should be running with wine-ge-8-26 - check that in the game config (“runner options” tab) and get back to us.

Lastly, you’re running X11 as your windowing system, but Wayland’s compositing is better for games now it doesn’t have mouse lag (for me, anyway) and other features.
I’m not sure what Kubuntu’s version is, so you might want to check if they supply an up to date version, but you should be able to switch to Wayland on the login screen.